About Us

Vaad Hakashrus Five Towns Far Rockaway

Vaad HaKashrus of Five Towns Far Rockaway is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that was founded to supervise and certify retail establishments and commercial companies that cater to the Kosher consumer in the local Five Towns area. Vaad Hakashrus adheres to only the strictest standards of Kashrus.

The Vaad

The Vaad Hakashrus of the Five Towns & Far Rockaway is a non-profit 501(c)3 local kosher certification that adheres only to the strictest standards of Kashrus. The Vaad HaKashrus began with a few stores in early 70s. As the Community grew, the number of stores under certification grew as well.


The Vaad HaKashrus slowly expanded to certify stores in all the Five Towns in addition to Far Rockaway, and services these communities and beyond. The Vaad HaKashrus certifies an array of different stores including bakeries, caterers, pizza stores, butchers, supermarkets, nursing homes, steakhouses, and more.


There are more than 50 Rabbonim representing their kehillas including many of the yeshivas of the community as member of the Vaad HaKashrus which represent the cross-section of the entire community.

Our Staff

Rabbi Yosef Eisen
Rabbinic Kashrus Administrator
Rabbi Shimon Adler
Assistant Kashrus Administrator
Rabbi Yisrael Moshen
Senior Rabbinic Field Supervisor
Director of Catering
Rabbi Avrohom Garfinkel
Senior Rabbinic Field Supervisor
Senior Rabbinic Field Supervisor
Rabbi Mordechai Ehrlich
Senior Rabbinic Field Supervisor
Senior Rabbinic Field Supervisor

Rabbinic Board

Rabbi Shalom Axelrod
Young Israel of Woodmere
Rabbi Yaakov Feitman
Kehillas Bais Yehudah Tzvi (“The Red Shul”)
Rabbi Ephraim Polakoff
Bais Tefilah
Rabbi Dovid Bender
Rosh Kollel Darchei Torah
Rabbi Binyamin Forst
K'hal Nesiv Hatorah
Rabbi Yaakov Trump
Young Israel of Lawrence-Cedarhurst
Rabbi Meir Braunstein
Agudath Israel of Long Island
Rabbi Yechezkel Freundlich
Congregation Beth Sholom
Rabbi Shmuel Witkin
Kehillas Bnei Hayeshivos

Executive Board

Mr. Stephen Savitsky
Mr. Moshe Smith
Mr. Elisha Brecher
Mr. Moshe Mishkowitz